“Writing a book…

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.”
– George Orwell

George, you are so right.   

In the winter of 2009, I began to write a young adult novel titled Mount Haven.  The basic premise of the book was about a teenage boy named Luke discovering that he comes from a long line of witches (or warlocks).  It started off with a premonition of a “shadow” attacking him and in a few short months I had about 6 chapters – then it stopped.

It wasn’t that I didn’t have any more ideas, it was more that I knew where Chapters 9 – to the end were going, however, I couldn’t bridge chapters 7 and 8.  I’ve considered starting at chapter 9 and hoping that my moment of writer’s block would be, for a better word, vanquished.  

It’s now almost 4 years since I gave Luke life on my computer screen.  A big part of me wants to return to my fictional town of Mount Haven, Pennsylvania and put an end to that shadow demon that is harassing my main protagonist and his family.  The question is:  Where do I begin?  How can I begin?  Possibly setting a deadline is the first step; and if I fall there’s only one thing that I can do – get up.  

Summer, 2013 seems like a good end point.  

Now, where’s a Grimoire  when you need one?

Leave a Reply

